The 1745 House is a fine example of a traditional laird's house, built by Alexander MacDougall, 23rd chief of the Clan MacDougall. It replaced Dunollie Castle as the residence of the Clan Chief.
Building work began shortly after the estate was retuned to the MacDougall's in August 1745 after having been forfeited in the 1715 Jacobite rising. Alexander turned his back on the family's Jacobite past to become a peaceable landlord, intent on improving Dunollie's Estate.
A large addition to the house was built in 1836. The family moved into the new wing, and the 1745 House became the servants' quarters.
The 1745 House is now open for visitors to explore the fascinating history of the MacDougall Family.
© Tony Hardley Photography
History of Building